My Journalism Journey: Story Behind Pen And Paper

My journalism journey has been fantastic despite the challenges that I bump into sometimes and the sponsorship I’m currently struggling to get…

IMG_0646

I’m the first person in my family to graduate and hopefully not the last, the only one to make it to Boston Media House. I have spent my childhood with my grandparents and uncles, life wasn’t easy back then. I’m first to move out of home age 21 and first to own my own company/publication and believe in my dreams. I had an amazing time at college, I’m not going to talk about high school because is a different story. Let me put it this way, back in high school I was the nerdy kid.

I remember the first day at college when my dad and I walked into campus to pay for my fees, seeing the students from rich families, all fashionable, classic back packs and all that and to my mind, I asked, am I going to make it here? by the way, I was convicted it was a bad omen. I later realised that if you really believe in him (God), yourself and work hard and live around positive people you definitely will make it in life.

My journalism journey so far…

People who have not yet been at Boston think everyone from Boston is rich, posh and privileged. I certainly don’t they think so because I’m not. After three years down the line, here I am, have a Diploma in Media, have my own Mamelodi Happenings and want to pursue a Degree in Criminology.

My journey started in 2014 when my dad and I thought I could blog to learn. Now I want to blog to earn. Journalism for me is not about money but passion. I have been blogging for more than three years and haven’t yet started making money out of it. I have helped many people in the community before and still will, I believe my purpose is to help others. Most people think all the journalist are interested in just chasing out stories. That is not true.

For example, someone can lose a house, maybe it burned, I as a journalist will write about it, you would probably think I’m writing because is a story. When someone out there read about it, they get interested in helping that person with food, clothes etc. There are many ways that journalist helps the public and not just chasing stories…

I met a lot of famous people that I always loose count and got opportunities to interview them. I have been in situations where I felt uncomfortable, unsafe and there are some, where I’m still proud of. I remember one of the days I still can’t forget. When I was attending a protest somewhere in Mamelodi. Some strangers approached me and asked me to delete all the photos I took during the protest, of which I did.

I have once interviewed a child molester which was my first time being in such a difficult interview, was a bit nervous but no one could tell (spilling the bean I guess). I had to look at him in the eye and all that in mind I went, I’m possibly interviewing a rapist here, I don’t know. I spoke to one guy I haven’t seen even today who told me that he was robbing banks for a living and I was stupid enough to tell him that I was a journalist. Gosh, I’m such a journalist!

When I was attending a protest somewhere in Mamelodi. Some strangers approached me and asked me to delete all the photos I took during the protest, of which I did. I have once interviewed a child molester which was my first time being in such a difficult interview, was a bit nervous but no one could tell (spilling the bean I guess).

I have met a lot of men and women whom I wanted to do business with and those I’ve approached for sponsorships for Mamelodi Happenings. Some men were never interested and some wanted to take advantage and I didn’t let them. I believe it has to be out of a pure heart to help someone pursue their dreams.

I’m currently starting an advertising magazine for the community, most of my advertisers pulled back and I can’t find anyone to fund my business. It’s a challenge. Unfortunately, I haven’t met the right people yet, maybe some day, although it takes time. Patience…

I  have attended many events which were educational, environmental, political, violence/consists of crime, sport, fashion shows, business and entertainment, of which I’m still proud of. There are a lot more coming and I can’t wait since I’m not intending to stop. I love a career path I choose and I choose it for a reason.

By: Fortunate Machaba

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Journalism Journey:Story Behind Pen And Paper

  1. Mattheus Brink

    Actually, if you want me to come Mamelodi, it’s also good. Funny, as it is, I’m writing to you, right now, from Mamelodi Sundowns grounds next to Tembisa. We have an interview with the coach..
    Regards,
    Mattheus

    Like

    Reply
    1. Fortunate Machaba Post author

      Haha is all good.You are more than welcome to come to Mamelodi thank you. I’d like to invite you to one of the interesting programs by Tateni community centre.My contact details 0838975571 so we keep in touch!cheers.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

