What Does It Mean To Celebrate Mandela Day?

Have you ever wondered why we celebrate Mandela Day? This will help you find out!

IMG-20170718-WA0020

Mandela Day is a day we celebrate every year 18 July (Nelson Mandela’s birthday) to honour him, not just us but the entire world. It is an international day in honour of Nelson Mandela. From Mandela Day campaign: “Nelson Mandela has fought for social justice for 67 years. We’re asking you to start with 67 minutes. We would be honoured if such a day can serve to bring together people around the world to fight poverty and promote peacereconciliation and cultural diversity,” according to a statement issued on Mandela’s behalf.

To me, this day means to bring back positivity to the community.

Have a little tour with me and see what I did as well as others on that day. 

 

IMG-20170718-WA0020.jpg

Anglo-American bringing their best at children’s home. I helped catering ladies with preparing about 150 food packs for children at the village.

After that, it totally made sense why there should be this day. I honestly feel that we should do this very often, practice this every day and not just do positive things or bring back to the community once a year. Won’t it be amazing if you see what I will share with you just now very often? I’ll be thrilled!

20170718_133800

Ward 10 councillor and members of the community cleaning the schools in Mamelodi East.

It always pains me when I see the guys sleeping on the streets in my community without warm blankets and what you see near them is fire just to keep warm. I wish I or someone else could’ve donated some for them.

 

IMG-20170721-WA0025 (1)

Lehlabile Secondary School Students cleaning the library.

 

 

Some students from Lehlabile Secondary School took their initiative and cleaned the library at their school for Mandela Day.

 

 

 

IMG_0678

children playing soccer to entertain Pact SA visitors

 

Pact SA, Pick’n pay, Denlyn and Mahube and GSK organisation also contributed to Sediaba Sa Thuto dropping centre, giving children from unprivileged family food and school uniforms for Mandela Day.

 

This day is the most special day. I never considered going to the orphanages or school to help before but since I have been to many places on Mandela Day, I’ve seen how important it is. Don’t hesitate to help when you see someone in need and you see that you can help. Let’s help each other, develop each other if we can and improve our society. Stay motivated cheers!

By: Fortunate Machaba

Leave a Reply

