Did you know about the US Embassy Mae Jemison library? This article will help you!

Mae Jemison library is the library located in Mamelodi East inside the University of Pretoria Mamelodi Campus. This library was named after Mae Jemison, the first African-American woman to travel in space. It helps mostly science students and others with homework, assignments and extra maths classes. The library have a free access of Wifi for students to do their school work, books that they can read and borrow from the library, free copies of anything students need copy of and Wednesday programs. Scienza visit the library on Wednesdays. They normally host science programs where they do experiments with the kids and some fun activities that will benefit the kids educationally. “It is a great place for the students to come and get help with their education. The staff are knowledgeable and friendly”, said one of the library staff members, Philip Craig. I also agree to his point. I also used to visit the library when I was in high school from grade 10 until grade 12 it was from 2011 to 2013 and it helped me pass my maths and sciences. There was also one time where we had an amazing day at the library, the US ambassador, Patrick Gaspard came to the library to motivate us. I was so thrilled to see him and listen to his speech. So I would recommend anyone to go despite their subjects. Moat of the kids around Mamelodi whether from local schools or not who have passed their matric with distinctions are from this library. I know one who had got 6 distinctions and currently studying in Stellenbosch, University in Cape Town. Some of the students come back to the library after their matric and volunteer to help the kids with their school work. If you are not doing science it doesn’t mean you are not welcomed to the library. I encourage you to go pick a book you like and read. I’m sure there will be many you like. Improve your English, vocabulary and writing skills. That’s how I’ve learnt and trust me it worked for me. I see no reason why it won’t work for you too and besides this library is also a great place for young kids to associate with others, make friends and socialize!

By: Fortunate Machaba

Leave a Reply

